Adventures in Entrepreneurship​

Dabble & Pluck

So I’ve been sitting on this egg for some time now. In fact, I registered for my business license back in March, and I’m just now opening my Etsy shop. My hesitancy to officially open shop was part self-doubt, part procrastination, and part time/circumstances. Plus, when it comes to business savvy, I am not. I’ve learned how to create and register a business with the Department of Revenue to get my tax id number, and I’ve learned how to file and remit my first quarter’s sales and use tax. The idea of keeping receipts all year for my supplies boggles my mind and will definitely be a challenge for someone like me, but I’m hoping it will be worth it. It has been a steep learning curve, and I’m pretty sure I haven’t even reached the top of the curve yet.

As I’ve mentioned previously in my writing, I consider myself a creative as opposed to a writer, artist, crafter, etc… I prefer the term creative; a descriptor that allows me much more freedom. I chose the shop name, “Dabble & Pluck,” for the same reason. It’s a little bit of everything I do. I’m hoping to get some writing projects up in some form, but for now, my ideas are still percolating.

For now, I’m excited just to have done this THING that I’ve wanted to do. My studio has been getting quite full and cluttered at the moment. I’d love to sell some of my projects. At the same time, there are some that will be incredibly difficult to let go. I’ve fallen in love with them. They’re pieces of me. So if you happen to be someone who ends up with one of my pieces, please accept this small piece of me and know that it was created with love.

My goal is to be able to keep my studio stocked with supplies so I can keep on creating and make a little money on the side. If I can do that, I’ll be content. I’m finally getting an opportunity to send my creations out into the world, and it feels good!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Adventures in Entrepreneurship​

  1. Dear Vicki,

    I’m so glad it feels good. In that case, it’s the right thing to do. I’ll be watching with interest to see how this all turns out, whilst keeping one eye on my letter box…:)

    Celebrating with you…

    Take care,

    Casey

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Best of luck. I tried Etsy but gave up too soon. Give yourself time to get established and develop a customer base, etc., if you’ll pardon the unsolicited advice.
    Michael

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply - I love messages!

