Forbearance

Forbearance

my body vibrates with anxiety and caffeine
like tiny hummingbirds fluttering just inside my skin
instinct cries out to fight or flee, but
experience, the wiser of the two,
calmly suggests, “wait and see.”

I lean into it, allowing it to wash over me,
a continuous lapping wave persistently worrying at the shore
sweeping away loose grains of sand
and shifting coastal landscapes in my mind
rolling me inland awaiting the return of the mighty sea

as moon tugs tides astray
I rest upon the jetty
discovering creatures seemingly stranded among the rocks
taking comfort in their innate certainty
that nature taking course will raise high the tide yet again
granting safe passage whence they came

3 thoughts on “Forbearance

  1. Sometimes I picked out lines of poems that I really love, but there are just too many in this one, okay maybe I’ll just say a few ‘shifting coastal landscapes in my mind’ ‘as moon tugs tides astray’ ‘I lean into it, allowing it to wash over me,a continuous lapping wave persistently worrying at the shore’ were all stunning. I’m not sure if this was meant to be calming, but I found it so relaxing to read, it had a lovely tone. I hope you know how talented you are!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words! You’ve made me smile from ear-to-ear. Also, I guess you could say that it was meant to be calming. It’s about overcoming an anxiety attack.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply - I love messages!

