Poetry, Patreon, and the Plight of Publishing*

katyriannewrites

(*Publishing as in self-publishing, but I couldn’t shy away from that delicious alliteration!)

Over the years my writing has taken many unexpected turns.  When I started writing at about the age of 12, my main influences were Emily Dickinson and Edgar Allan Poe.  I wrote in lengthy confessionals that I forced into rhyming but I ignored the flow.  I did this for the longest time and I’m sure I could go back and read some of the stuff I wrote 15 years ago and cringe (mostly, I would want to take pre-teen me to the bookstore and buy her a giant basket of poetry books).  As I grew up, I expanded my list of influential poets to include Sylvia Plath, Charles Bukowski, Andrea Gibson, e.e. cummings, Pablo Neruda, and the list goes on and on.  If it was poetry, I was reading it (or, later down the line, watching it…

View original post 486 more words

Leave a Reply - I love messages!

