Busy Hands

(I haven’t written much lately, I know, but my creativity has had other pursuits.)

Pull the yarn taut, push through

push through,

then loop around, and pull back.

Now again.

And again.

Until the chain stretches far and wide –

on the surface, my hands are busy

beneath, my mind is in overdrive

pull taut, push, loop, pull back

a rhythm that soothes in repetitions

I don’t make art the art makes me

Keep my hands busy as my mind

weaves stories, processes emotion,

daydreams in color

between my fingers slip coarse yet soft

strands. lost in thought.

pull taut, push, loop, pull back

I give my creation strength

with each passing row.

My hands are strong

made to create

weaving patterns from the clouds

my hands toil while my mind

tells stories, paints pictures, sings songs

pull taut, push, loop, pull back

my hands

pull taut, push, loop, pull back

free my mind with their

rhythmic pantomime

let the yarn slip through my fingers

pull taut, push, loop, pull back

let the thoughts slip through my fingers

pull taut, push, loop, pull back

I create.

 

3 thoughts on “Busy Hands

Leave a Reply - I love messages!

