Leaving Yesterday’s Troubles Behind

I don’t really have much in the way of resolutions; never really do. All I can hope for as we pass into this new year is that there will be, in some measure, less sorrow, grief, and misery and broken pieces on my emotional landscape. The past few years have seen the most heart-wrenching experiences of my life.

In 2015, I tore the paint off the walls and started over fresh in a room whose once empty chamber over time has held hope, joy, frustration, anger, desperation, betrayal, and grief. Now it holds hope, joy, passion, creativity, reflection, progress, and life.

This year, I am not starting with a fresh canvas or brand new tools, but rather a sense of hope for the coming year. Hope that I will continue to write and create in the spaces that I’ve carefully carved out for myself. Hope that I will step into the truest me I’ve ever been – more self-aware, passionate, creative, and with any luck happier than I’ve been in a long time.

So, here’s to the end of mining the coal! Now, let’s set this shit on fire and see where it takes me!

Leave a Reply - I love messages!

