Demons by Night

I grind my teeth at night

clenching and gritting

my way through the worries and frustrations

of each day.

I clench my jaw unyielding

so to keep the demons

locked away and out of sight

letting not their words slip past my tongue

out into the air of night.

I stifle their groans as

I grind their bones by night

and worry their flesh by day.

This battle rages on through

dreamscapes and slumber.

Waking tired, with a yawning battle cry

rising once again into the light

to acknowledge this is a battle

that I may never win.

My unconquered demons

linger still

just beneath the eyelids of faltering sleep.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Demons by Night

Leave a Reply - I love messages!

