Writers’ Group Tonight

So tonight I’ll be off to my second meeting of our local writers’ group and I’m super excited. I don’t have anything in particular that I want to write about, but the idea of being with other like-minded individuals makes me happy. It gives me a time specifically set aside for me to  get lost in my thoughts and daydream in words. I’m not always good at allowing myself the time to do that. Sometimes I’m just distracted by life and my own anxieties consume all of my brainspace.

For instance, yesterday…I was incredibly low yesterday. I couldn’t write; I couldn’t seem to create anything; all I wanted to do was sleep.  I had to force myself to do my Christmas cards last night in hopes that it would brighten my spirits. I’ve had a rough couple of days emotionally with several ups and downs. When I’m up I write and create like nobody’s business, but when I’m down…that’s a whole different story. My lows usually last 2 to 3 days and then I slowly emerge from the fog into a bright sunny clearing.

Today my brainspace is filled with butterflies and thoughts of laying in a meadow, staring up at the clouds, and imagining fluffy cotton animals floating by. Yep, I’m up today. My imagination is free to roam and I feel content with life even when just a few short hours ago I felt overwhelmed by my own internal realm of shadowy despondence.

These peaks and valleys have become a common occurrence in my world. Today’s forecast is fog, clearing early, with the potential for afternoon and evening bursts of creativity. I’m hoping the forecast holds true.

One thought on “Writers’ Group Tonight

Leave a Reply - I love messages!

