Nerdy Book Thing: “neverenoughbooksitis”

About a week ago, I decided that I wanted to start a classroom library. I haven’t seen a many high school classroom libraries, but I definitely want to encourage my students to read for pleasure and not just because they have an assignment. I realized that I already own a pretty extensive collection of YA books, but I thought it might be nice to get a few more (and by “a few” I mean at least 100 more); however, I have no idea what I already have and what I don’t at this point. I came to the conclusion I’d need an inventory. That’s how it all started.

Being my pseudo-tech savvy self, I began looking for book inventory apps. I figured there had to be some sort of library application out there that would make my life easier. I was right. In fact, there is a bunch of apps to choose from. I settled on Book Catalogue (which I’m exceedingly pleased with). This is where the fun began.

What I didn’t realize in downloading this app was that I would become an obsessive bibliophilic zombie hell bent on creating my own personal inventory of not just what I wanted in my classroom library, but my OWN personal book collection as well. Oh, who the hell am I kidding? My subconscious knew exactly what kind of pandora’s box I was opening, but failed to sufficiently warn me of my impending insanity.

So far, I’m only a tiny way into the scanning of my entire personal collection, and already I’ve got 143 books listed. And yet, guess where I went today. As if that weren’t enough, I went to a used bookstore and bought five more books to add to the collection!

I think it might be time to admit I have a problem. I believe the correct medical terminology is “neverenoughbooksitis.” Anyone else suffer from this wonderous malady?

Leave a Reply - I love messages!

